Hello Readers


I guess it took plagiarism to get me back in to this site and poking around.

I just wanted to say thanks to all of my readers and followers. I post like once a year these days, and it’s gratifying to see my material is still being read.

I started this blog in 2012, and since then have had around 820k views and 150k visitors. I know for the regular caption sites that’s chump change, but I’ll take it. Even with no new content there’s around 2,500 views a day. Obviously the highest volume years were when I was actively posting Virt here. Here’s the traffic chart. I’ve had 2000 views since I posted yesterday.

So people do continue to read, and I appreciate that.

An update on my end: I am still “in retirement” from writing. I’m actively transitioning, and am out everywhere but at work (and that soon). It turns out I’m more genderfluid/non-binary than I thought I would be; my comfort zone is more skinny jeans than sundresses. Maybe that’s a product of where I am in my transition. I’m just not in a place right now where I feel terribly sexual, though, my connection to my body is changing and confusing.

I don’t think I’ll be in a frame of mind to return to writing any time soon – I still have a few years of shaking out what this means for me in the real world. There’s also just the craziness of the current world that makes focusing on fantasy hard. Black Lives Matter is finally gaining traction (as it should) and we are in for some big changes here in the states. COVID isn’t done with us yet either. And neither is Trump.

Take care everyone, stay safe and be well!

Melody

4 thoughts on “Hello Readers

  1. Dear Melody,
    Wow, two posts in two days! I echo everything Selkie has said. I continue to hope that one day – one day! – we might see some new work from you, because you have written things, ‘psychological-science fiction BDSM’ I might call it, that I have read nowhere else. I particularly regret that Dominion was never finished.

    But Real Life MUST come first. Your continuing transition, and anything else you have to deal with, is the most important thing. And yes, we are living through very strange times. When all is over, even if you return to writing it might be very different from what you have done before.

    As for your plagiarist, I suspect that when Amazon realise/are appraised of the fact that it is stolen from a work publishe by another publisher they will remove the e-book PDQ. It’s one thing to pirate a work from Fictionmania, but to pirate something from Smashwords is a big mistake on the plagiarist’s part. Probably they took it from Fictionmania and didn’t realise it was on Smashwords.

    So stay well and take care, Melody, and very best wishes for your continuing successful transition!

  2. Honestly, while I would love to see more work from you, I’m really just glad to see that you’re alive and well. Happy to hear that your transitioning seems to be going pretty well, and I wish you the best of luck with it going forward! 🙂

    Also, yeah, we’re living in “interesting” times. I’m crossing my fingers that BLM will actually get even more done (I mean, the recent protests have already done more than years of going through the “right” channels), and that come January, we will be done with Trump.

    Best wishes,
    Incognito

Leave a comment